PGA TOUR Overview

The name of our organization is the PGA TOUR, a tax-exempt membership group of professional golfers that plays approximately 130 official-money tournaments on six tours—the PGA TOUR, PGA TOUR Champions, Tour, PGA TOUR Latinoamérica, Mackenzie Tour - PGA TOUR Canada and Ping An Bank China Tour - PGA TOUR China Series. Our headquarters are located in Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla., southeast of Jacksonville.

We should be referred to as the PGA TOUR or TOUR (on second reference), but not the PGA, as we are a different organization than the PGA of America. The PGA is the Professional Golfers’ Association of America, a membership organization for the nation’s club professionals. The PGA runs the PGA Championship, Senior PGA Championship and Ryder Cup, among other championships. The PGA headquarters are located in Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.

The PGA TOUR and PGA of America were affiliated until 1968, when the tournament players, a small subset of the total PGA membership, broke away to form the Tournament Players Division and gain more control of their finances and tournament schedule. The Tournament Players Division was renamed the PGA TOUR in 1975.

Three other golf organizations are involved in men’s professional tournament play, independent of the TOUR but with their marquee events included on the TOUR schedule as non-TOUR co-sponsored tournaments. The United States Golf Association, with headquarters in Far Hills, N.J., oversees the national championships (U.S. Open, U.S. Senior Open, U.S. Amateur, U.S. Women’s Amateur, etc.) and administers the Rules of Golf for the United States and Mexico, among other duties. The Augusta (Ga.) National Golf Club host the Masters Tournament. The Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland, oversees The Open Championship and administers the world’s golf rules jointly with the USGA.
The PGA TOUR is the world’s foremost golf tour, with 2016-17 official-money events beginning in October 2016 and ending in September 2017. This is the 11th season of the FedExCup, a season-long points competition culminating with the FedExCup Playoffs.
2016-17 Membership:
88 international players, 22 countries
Competition Awards:
FedExCup (season-long points), Jack Nicklaus Award (Player of the Year), Arnold Palmer Award (leading money-winner), Byron Nelson Award (scoring average), Courage Award, Rookie of the Year

The PGA TOUR Champions is a membership organization of golfers age 50 and older, with the most recognizable and accomplished players in the game - including 32 members of the World Golf Hall of Fame. The season-long Charles Schwab Cup gives way to the Charles Schwab Cup Playoffs – a three-tournament, season-ending series to determine the Tour’s top player. The Charles Schwab Cup will celebrate its 17th season during the Tour’s 2017 campaign.
2017 Membership:
23 international players, 17 countries
Competition Awards:
Charles Schwab Cup, Jack Nicklaus Award (Player of the Year), Arnold Palmer Award (leading money winner), Byron Nelson Award (scoring average), Rookie of the Year
The Tour is the path to the PGA TOUR, whereby all 50 TOUR cards come via the Tour’s Regular Season and the season-ending Tour Finals. More than 450 PGA TOUR titles – including 22 major championships and six PLAYERS Championships – have been won by former Tour players, while three out of four 2016-17 PGA TOUR members have Tour roots. The 2015 Tour Finals produced 10 winners during the TOUR’s 2015-16 season, including three of the first four events.
2017 Membership:
90 international players, 24 countries
Competition Awards:
Jack Nicklaus Award (Player of the Year), 50 PGA TOUR cards awarded

The PGA TOUR Latinoamérica is a professional golf tour created in 2012 by the PGA TOUR in collaboration with promoters, clubs and national golf federations in Latin America. The inaugural season in 2012 featured 11 tournaments in seven countries in the Latin American region. Since then, it has grown to include 19 events across 13 different countries in 2017. The Tour currently visits Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Peru, Uruguay and the United States.
Competition Awards:
The leading money winner at the end of each season is awarded the Roberto De Vicenzo Award, and the top-five money winners from the PGA TOUR Latinoamérica Order of Merit earn Tour status for the following season.
The Mackenzie Tour - PGA TOUR Canada (formerly known as the Canadian Tour) is a professional golf tour played across Canada. Since its inception as the Peter Jackson Tour in 1971, PGA TOUR Canada has evolved into a high-caliber, coast-to-coast training ground for professionals. Since 2013, the Mackenzie Tour has been part of the path to the PGA TOUR, providing access to the Tour for the top-five finishers on the Order of Merit. Its alumni include not only the game’s Canadian legends, but also many of its most prominent international players, who have collectively won 126 PGA TOUR titles, through 2015-16.
Competition Awards:
Player of the Year; Top five on the Order of Merit earn Tour status
The Ping An Bank China Tour – PGA TOUR China Series is a professional golf tour that made its debut in 2014. The Series provides playing opportunities for natives of China, based on their ranking within the China Golf Association. The Series attracts other players mainly from Asia and other Pacific Rim countries, although membership includes players from five continents. The top-five money winners from the PGA TOUR China Series Order of Merit earn Tour status for the following season. For the first time in 2016, the Series played an official event outside Mainland China, the Clearwater Bay Open in Hong Kong.
2016 membership:
186 international players, 14 countries