Payne Stewart Award

The award is named for Payne Stewart, an 11-time winner on the PGA TOUR, including three major championships. Stewart died the week of THE TOUR Championship in 1999. The award was created by the PGA TOUR Policy Board to perpetuate Stewart’s memory. It is presented annually at THE TOUR Championship to a player sharing Stewart’s respect for the traditions of the game, his commitment to uphold the game’s heritage of charitable support and the professional and meticulous presentation of himself and the sport through his dress and conduct.

In addition to a sculpture presented to the recipient, the Payne Stewart Award is accompanied by an annual Payne Stewart Award Grant presented by Southern Company.

The $300,000 grant will support several initiatives in Stewart’s name to be distributed as follows: $100,000 to Payne and Tracey Stewart’s primary charity, The Stewart Family Foundation; $100,000 to the Payne Stewart Memorial Golf & Leadership Complex at Kids Across America Kamps; and $100,000 to a charity designated by the recipient.
  • 2000 Byron Nelson
  • 2000 Jack Nicklaus
  • 2000 Arnold Palmer
  • 2001 Ben Crenshaw
  • 2002 Nick Price
  • 2003 Tom Watson
  • 2004 Jay Haas
  • 2005 Brad Faxon
  • 2006 Gary Player
  • 2007 Hal Sutton
  • 2008 Davis Love III
  • 2009 Kenny Perry
  • 2010 Tom Lehman
  • 2011 David Toms
  • 2012 Steve Stricker
  • 2013 Peter Jacobsen
  • 2014 Nick Faldo
  • 2015 Ernie Els
  • 2016 Jim Furyk
  • 2017 Stewart Cink
  • 2018 Bernhard Langer